FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
The Historic New Orleans Collection
The Collection to offer holiday-themed tours of Williams Residence
WHO: The Historic New Orleans Collection
WHAT: Holiday Home and Courtyard Tours of the Williams Residence
WHEN: Dec. 4-30, 2012*
10 & 11 a.m., 2 & 3 p.m., Tues.-Sat.
11 a.m., 2 & 3 p.m., Sun.
*The Collection will be closed December 25.
WHERE: 533 Royal St., New Orleans, LA
HOW: Admission is $5 per person, free for members of The Collection
WHY: The Historic New Orleans Collection is pleased to once again offer Holiday Home and Courtyard Tours of the Williams Residence. The two-story brick townhouse, built in 1889 and restored in the 1940s, was owned by THNOC's founders General L. Kemper and Leila Williams. Filled with antiques and other objets d'art collected by the couple in their wide travels, the Williamses lived in the house from 1946 through 1963.
During the holidays, the residence is festively adorned with some of the Williamses' original decorations, including a beautiful Christmas tree with vintage ornaments and family photos of the Williamses from 1956 through 1961. In addition, visitors will learn about the family's unique holiday traditions.
Tours are available December 4-30 at 10 & 11 a.m., 2 & 3 p.m., Tues.-Sat., and 11 a.m., 2 & 3 p.m., Sun. The Collection will be closed December 25.
About The Historic New Orleans Collection
Founded in 1966, The Historic New Orleans Collection is a museum, research center and publisher dedicated to the study and preservation of the history and culture of New Orleans and the Gulf South region. For more information about The Historic New Orleans Collection, please visit www.hnoc.org or call (504) 523-4662.
The Historic New Orleans Collection-Preserving our Past for a Brighter Future.